Archiving old Lucity/GIS assets

Jonathan Semones -

One questions that asset managers and GIS departments have to handle is what to do with old assets/features once they have been retired/replaced.  Do you keep the historical information?  Do you delete it out of Lucity or GIS or both?  This article provides one way to deal with this problem while keeping your historical data in both GIS and Lucity.

By: Luke Savage

  1. Create a duplicate feature class with same schema (example: ssPipeArchive alias Sewer Pipe Archive)
  2. In the Geodatabase Configuration for Lucity, add the newly created feature class and link it to the respective Lucity table. Once complete, there will be two linked feature classes linked to the same Lucity table.  One for production and one for archiving.  In this example, we’ll use Option B.
    1. Option A: you can use the status field to link to GIS if you want to control the archiving process solely from GIS so the Lucity record will be updated automatically on save in GIS. 
    2. Option B: you can control the archiving process from Lucity in the status field.  For this option, it would be recommended to only link the IDs.
  3. In ArcMap when editing, go to the feature you want to split or merge and copy the object to the archive feature class prior to the operation.
  4. Now that we have a copy of the existing data, you can perform the procedure. Because we are archiving, you should be using new IDs for the split or merged dataset so the old one can be archived with the existing IDs.  Please update the appropriate tables in Lucity in the advanced button (Work Orders, Inspections and so on).  In this example, we are going to split a line.  Make sure the archive is unselectable and clear selection prior to splitting the line.
  5. When the split dialog appears, go to archive pre-split pipe box is checked and make sure the status is out of service or whatever you have added to archive the status field in Lucity’s picklist.
  6. Afterwards, go to the advanced settings and make sure all of the modules you want updated are checked. In this example, we’re updating all modules.
  7. After you press ok in the dialog, save your edit session.
  8. You can now see that the new records are associated to the modules and the old one in the archive feature class is associated with the old archived record.
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments